All you need is love

“All you need is love” – this was on a wedding invitation I received this year. I hated it, hugely cynical all I could think about was that this was a second marriage for both partners, and if all you need is love what happened in their first marriages? Didn’t they have any love for their first husband/wife? *

This weekend marriage was legalised for homosexual couples in all states of America. I do not rejoice in this news. I am a christian and I believe God created us man and woman for a purpose and I believe homosexuality is a sin.

The problem I face is that I am one of the biggest sinners out there, on par with all other sinners in this world. My reprieve is found in the cross, Jesus’ sacrificial death, His grace, which has forgiven me all my sins.

So when people say love is love is love I find it hard to disagree. How can I say the love I feel for my husband (mostly!) is more pure than a gay or lesbian couple feel for each other? I can’t. I don’t understand how God allows these feelings to occur, but I imagine it is the Devils work. (Which I realise is a hugely horrible thing to say about the love a person feels). I don’t believe a person chooses to have homosexual feelings but I do believe as a christian they have the choice whether or not to act on them. This is in the knowledge that I too know sinning is wrong yet I do it on a daily basis. No sin is worse than another sin but we can make choices to help us stay away from sin ie not living together before marriage.

So again I go back to the saying love is love is love and I’ll add except when its not. I sometimes see on facebook posts about how all children need is love and I disagree. Yes love is hugely hugely important but so too is food, shelter and security. And in the same way love is not enough in marriage, it is a commitment to work together even when love is not altogether present.

I do not wish to discriminate against LGBT communities. We all have our own choices in life to make. I support civil unions as I believe these couples deserve the same equal rights as married couples but I believe God ordained marriage as between a man and a woman and for that reason I do not support gay marriage.

These two articles express my opinions well   http://www.lca.org.au/statement-to-the-members-of-the-lca-on-marriage.html  and http://higherthings.org/myht/articles/life_issues/sky-is-falling-again?utm_content=buffer74da7&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

6 thoughts on “All you need is love

  1. Well thanks for stopping by my blog and liking a drawing.

    Yep I’m a fellow suffer from depression – feel like crud most days – 15 years. Also a Christian know my self to be a sinner and I know the Lord upholds me. I always find this useful…. from Psalm 25,

    Turn to me and be gracious to me,
    for I am lonely and afflicted.
    17 The troubles of my heart are enlarged;
    bring me out of my distresses.
    18 Consider my affliction and my trouble,
    and forgive all my sins.

    May he give you peace.

    warm regards
    Philip.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes I agree, but it’s also the definition of love itself. To me love is not just a feeling but it includes action. For when you truly love, you take action. Everyone needs love, support and care. It’s about being content with what God has given to us.

    I do not support LGBT as well, as the Bible stated clearly it’s a sin. And yes everyone sins, no sin is bigger than another. But as long as we are aware of our own sins, we confess, God forgives. Through His grace and only Him alone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

