Book review (comments really!) The Signature of All Things

I’m an avid book reader (another few letters to add to the list BR), and have a growing collections on Goodreads.com (I started on living social anyone else remember that one?) but I never write reviews because I could never write something as comprehensive to be considered a review I’d prefer to just write a few comments, which now I have my own Blog, I can!!

And so begins my first (hopefully of many) – Book Comment (please add your own)

I’ve just finished reading (12th Feb) The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert (yes a ‘slight’ delay in publishing this post!)

I received this as a Christmas present in 2013 but reading the blurb didn’t really enthuse me (the topic botany in particular), so although I appreciated the thought of the gift from a special friend the book was very much near the bottom of to-read pile

Until I commented on a The Book Club facebook post about current reads…

(short interlude – I’ve had a lovely reading summer starting with Ken Follet’s Fall of Giants and also including the Hunger Games series & unfortunately my second Peter Carey book a bookclub requirement)

…I had finished my previous read and was awaiting my next inspiration and many commenters were writing highly of this book, so I picked it off the bedroom floor.

I still wasn’t expecting much though as I havn’t really heard the best reviews of Eat, Love, Pray (probably moreso the movie with one of my favourite actresses Julia Roberts, which I still have not seen) BUT I was pleasantly surprised.

And now I come to the crux of a book review and I’ve nothing more to add LOL. I really did enjoy the read and loved that the heroine for the greater majority of the book was an older woman, refreshing to read a book from the point of view of a spinster type character – she was rather marvelous. For any more details you will have to read the book yourself and then get back to me so we can discuss it some more!

One thought on “Book review (comments really!) The Signature of All Things

Leave a Reply

