Talking about sports… or death

I’ve kinda committed in my head to a blog a week and so far I’ve kept on track. Therefore the pressure is on today to get another post done by tomorrow. I have a few drafts to pull ideas from – like this article on the importance of talking about death (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-23/death-discussing-any-age-leads-happy-life-expert-says/6642412) but….

It’s a beautiful day here in South Australia. A perfect lazy Sunday afternoon for watching our AFL team Adelaide Crows play #2 on the ladder. Been awhile since I’ve caught one of their games. My priority is our local team, talking of which they made it into the grand final yesterday!!! Our netball teams are in too, so next weekend is going to be a big one. Finals fever in full action.

So it’s decision time – here I am looking out my window at the gorgeous blue sky, with the daffodils I bought sitting in view on the kitchen table, am I going to talk about the good news or the bad. Am I looking forward excitedly to the medal count night or thinking about my chance to say good-bye to my dear friend at his funeral the next day?

‘Talking about death is key to busting a cultural taboo that impacts our quality of life’ an expert claims in the article linked above. Most will know the importance of sport in Australia’s cultural identity. Most will also have been impacted by the cursed disease that is cancer. So which is the better topic for a blog post?

I have to admit I’m a bit over the death topic its been weighing me down and featuring the last few posts and its not what I want my blog to be about. Unfortunately as a traveler on this earth it affects me and truth is one day it will be me. “We are all going to face death over and over again throughout our lives. We need to prepare for it so it’s not an ongoing challenge ” says Professor Broom. He also said ‘people’s fear made death hard to think about, let alone discuss’. And here’s where I have an advantage – my death or the death of most of my loved ones is not an ultimate fear. I have faith that they will live on in a much better place. I believe in heaven and I believe through Jesus I have the assurance of ending up there.

I’ll finish off back at the footy. My team won by a whopping 57 points 🙂 While death may be all around us and certainly should be discussed (including with children…perhaps a post for another day), life is for living and its the small things in life sunshine, snuggling and a footy win which in the end make it all worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

