My Paid Job (Part 2)

 

Happy New Year folks 🙂

Last week I started sharing with you my career journey. This year one of my resolutions/hopes is to do some study to change the direction of my career a bit but first let me finish how I ended up where I am now

So prior to going on maternity leave I was working part-time interstate. The truth is I have only ever worked full-time for about 5 months. I sometimes feel a bit guilty about this but I guess I’ll have time to make up for it when the kids are all grown up….

Before having my baby girl I was in touch with a private occupational therapist working in the area where I live. I just looked back over old emails and she emailed me 3 days after I had given birth – wondering how I was going – we emailed back and forth for awhile me always saying I’d like to catch up and then a month later saying still waiting to get into a routine lol those early newborn days!! We eventually met up when my daughter was 3 months old, the best interview I’ve probably ever had because I wasn’t really expecting an interview – I had just been thinking it was a coffee to meet each other. But I was offered a job, hooray! I hadn’t really had plans regarding my return to work except that I had taken 1 years leave but realistically  was never going to return to that job (sadly as I ended up truly loving it – if only I could move the farm or the town a little closer to each other!)

It took awhile for contracts and provider numbers etc to be organised and then I postponed a week or so so I could say that I returned to work when my baby was 5 months. I worked one day a week visiting DVA (Department of Veteran Affairs) clients (mostly WW2 vets and widows) in the community putting in equipment, home modifications and services to help them remain independent and safe at home. Now 5+ years later I am still doing this at the moment for two days a week. However it has been far from continuous. I think I moved up to 2 days a week in 2011 but then lost a baby at 24 weeks and after stop starting for awhile gave up work altogether until after my rainbow baby was born in 2013. It was at the end of this year that I made inquiries to see if they’d have me back – they said yes 🙂

I’ve mostly worked one-two days with a few stints of more when my boss is away on holidays. This year I cut back down to 1 after a few months off due to depression and now I’ve returned to two days after another few months off. This job is great in its flexibility – not many places would let me have so much time off and come back again. Also the days and hours I work are pretty well up to me. I  work from home/my car with no office for me to go into, everything admin is done over the interwebs.

I miss having a work desk though, and a team to talk in person with and sadly equipment and home mods arn’t really my thing – I know what I need to know but it doesn’t interest me apart from how it helps my clients. What I really love is talking to people, engaging them and having them trust me to share any issues/concerns/triumphs.

For the last 2 years I’ve bee wanting to change direction – perhaps I’ll make that story Part 3 🙂

Leave a Reply

