movies · Uncategorized

Playing for Keeps

I just can’t watch romantic movies anymore and this coming from a former rom-com queen. My favourite was (is?) Pretty Woman and other favourites are Up Close and Personal, Runaway Bride, etc etc (Sleepless in Seattle, Jerry Maguire, Notting Hill, Love Actually, The Notebook, A Walk to Remember, Devil Wears Prada, 27 dresses, My Best Friend’s Wedding, Dirty Dancing, Juno, Enchanted, Coming to America, Pride and Prejudice, 10 Things I Hate About You, Joe Somebody sorry got a bit carried away there…)

I rarely watch them anymore though, I blame it on my husband who most certainly does not like the genre and a lack of time but also I just don’t find them as satisfying anymore.

For instance I just watched Playing For Keeps with Gerard Butler, Jessica Biele and co while yeah I did enjoy it, I’m also disappointed. **Spoilers Ahead**

Perhaps it’s a feminsit side coming out in me. The leading lady in this movie was about to marry a man but of course ends up with her ‘true love’ even after many disappointments. I am happy for her but mostly I’m

a) glad she didn’t cheat on her fiance but wishing she spoke to him about how she felt rather than him asking her

b) sad that we don’t know more of her story other than she’s a mother – in this movie the male lead is looking for work as a sports caster  and that’s a significant part of the movie. After the happy reunion at the end, everyone playing soccer on the front yard and before the credits start we find out he got his dream job but we don’t hear about her life outside of him and her son. I know the movie isn’t about her per se but I still believe she deserves more depth.

How about do you like rom coms? What is your favourite?

I may also be jaded by a very un-romantic husband and find it very hard to believe in any grand gestures!! Still love him but :p

 

Leave a Reply

