My faith dilemna

Read a lovely poem today on Watch this Space by rwoz2. I hope he (she?) doesn’t mind if I quote a section of it here

He sees

Through our disguises
To where we are hiding
He hears
The cry of our hearts
Of our inmost deep sighing
He knows
Through and through
Inside we are dying

He cares, so…He seeks

He seeks
And will not stop
Having counted the cost
He sweeps
High and low
For the coin that was lost
He braves
The dark, tooth and claw
For the sheep tempest-tossed

He cares…”

RWOz2 https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/12320983/posts/985441430

But he doesn’t always succeed – THIS is the idea I am struggling with at the moment. I know God gave us free choice, but I can’t understand if the Holy Spirit is working on a person and God seeks all people and gives His Holy Spirit, then how do people choose to turn away from His grace?

I don’t understand how this can happen when he is all powerful and all merciful?!?

I have received eternal undeserved grace and boundless blessings. I feel compelled to share this but I know majority in today’s society arn’t seeking and certainly don’t like an out spoken evangelist. So I am a quiet christian, praying that people can see God at work in my life.

 My Friend who passed away last year knew about Jesus but as far as I know had not chosen to follow him.

I studied a few subjects at Australian Lutheran College while I was at university and discovered the concept of universal salvation, I love it but unfortunately Lutherans don’t believe it and while I havn’t got my head around it all, I guess I agree. Still I struggle.

Another blogger (whom unfortunately I’ve forgotten) wrote ‘God chooses us for the same reason he chooses anyone – because of his grace’

‘called,chosen and faithful followers’ Rev 17:4 – but why are we not all called?

 

Does anyone else struggle with this? Has anyone resolved this in their mind – please share!

 

P.s. I missed a week of blogging whilst on holidays – apologies. But in exciting news I did get my 50th follower in that time 🙂

P.P.S Was going to write about my holidays if you’re lucky you might get a taste of it next week, or something completely different, who knows!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My faith dilemna

  1. Well I am not a Lutheran though I have great respect for the tradition. I understand your concerns, I think most Christians grapple with these truths. The nub is sin. We simply do not understand how sinful we are and how offensive our sin is to God, and what it deserves (which incidentally is why we can have a similar problem with hell). But we must remember that outside of Christ we are not good people but enemies of God; and Christ died for us while we were still sinners. To reject Jesus is to reject the one of infinite worth – and it is to call God a liar for he sent his Son to save us. Nor does God have to save anyone, for no-one deserves salvation. So each person saved is grace upon grace. We simply do not know why God elects one but not another. But of this we can be sure, on the day of Judgement God will not make a mistake. Every knee will bow and we shall say ‘amen’ to everything he decrees. He will be seen to be right and vindicated publicly before all creation. How can we be sure? We know Jesus, his mercy and his love – God’s character revealed in him. So we can quieten our hearts. Yet here, we ache….

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you so much PhilipMac for this response.

    I think it IS hard to think of ourselves as not good people and enemies of God.

    And it is hard to grapple with how awesome our God is. I don’t need to understand, indeed cannot expect to understand. But I do know he IS love and through His Son by His grace I am saved.

    I will continue to grapple and question and hopefully continue to be blessed by responses with others that teach and grow my faith.

    Like

  3. I was struck by the directness of your post. Forgive me, as I simply paste something from another site as a help. Irresistible faith is one of the basic doctrines of the reformed faith.

    Irresistible grace –

    When God calls his elect into salvation, they cannot resist. God offers to all people the gospel message. This is called the external call. But to the elect, God extends an internal call and it cannot be resisted. This call is by the Holy Spirit who works in the hearts and minds of the elect to bring them to repentance and regeneration whereby they willingly and freely come to God. Some of the verses used in support of this teaching are Romans 9:16 where it says that “it is not of him who wills nor of him who runs, but of God who has mercy”; Philippians 2:12-13 where God is said to be the one working salvation in the individual; John 6:28-29 where faith is declared to be the work of God; Acts 13:48 where God appoints people to believe; and John 1:12-13 where being born again is not by man’s will, but by God’s.
    “All that the Father gives Me shall come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out,” (John 6:37).

    http://www.calvinistcorner.com/tulip.htm

    Like

Leave a Reply

