Getting the Car Serviced

Am I the only mother who finds this an absolute struggle!!

It was Wiggle concert day today – woohoo! I seriously love this band – they’ve come to our country area the last four years and I’ve been there with my kiddos each year.

But first I had to drop my car off at  the mechanics, I was running late as usual, my wonderful friend picking me up though didn’t blink an eyelid and we headed off to the concert town with a full car blasting Wiggles tunes (the teens in the back LOVED it!)

Ten or so minutes down the road I got a phone call to check where my keys were…in my pocket of course! I’m very lucky that one of the workers was happy to come pick them up – no way was I turning around and missing the concert. Needed to workout a place to leave them though… My hairdresser has opened up a dress shop in the neighbouring town – problem solved.

Until we got to the shop and it was close til 10am, ok I know some people at the christian bookshop too, nope closed for this one day (naturally). So finally I decided to trust the local toy shop, they would understand a Mum desperate to get a Wiggles concert, surely?!? Thank you toy shop owner and thank you car shop, I didn’t hear from you again so I assume it all worked out!

We missed the last bell call but got into our seats in time.

The concert of course ROCKED!! My girl danced in the aisles with all her friends and my boy sat absolutely mesmorised. Me? Best seat dancer in the crowd! As a concert die-hard I’ve learnt to bring a few presents for the band so Anthony Wiggle was less than 2m from me 🙂 🙂

Home again with my friend who eventually dropped us and our car seats at my parents. I rang to check if the car was finished and headed off down the street for a few groceries before picking it up, boy in tow.

And there we were ready to pick up the car, no car seats. Fortunately I had a ‘phone a friend’ up my sleeve to dear Dad who kindly packed up our stuff and brought daughter and carseats to the car shop. So many favours from so many friends (and strangers!) A typically day for this famously forgetful Mum.

How do you handle car service days? I hate HATE car seat juggles, thankfully my daughter at 5 now doesn’t need hers bolted so thats something. Also both kids slept in the car and went straight to sleep tonight – hurrah.

 

Leave a Reply

