WWW Wednesday 15th Feb

I’m back! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in her comments for others to look at. Got back into some reading this week and here is my update:

IMG_1384-0

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Finished reading: Exposure by Helen Dunmore and about time too. Chose this as my book club pick and the girls are all due at my place next Wednesday! I enjoyed this book set during the cold war in England. The author explored so much in what was a somewhat slow paced book packed however with increasing tension, it really was fantastically written. One quote I particularly like was ‘The children a phalanx around their mother’.

To prove its worth here is a snapshot of a much better review than above paragraph from FictionFans Book Reviews:

It’s almost impossible to write a short blurb for this one that doesn’t make it sound as if it’s a spy thriller, and in many ways it is. But mostly what it is is a set of brilliant character studies showing the impact of this event on the lives of all those involved…. it’s an entirely credible portrayal of a fictionalised version of the Cambridge spy ring and its association with homosexuality, at that period of the 1950s and early ’60s still a crime, and enough to destroy a man’s career and even life, if exposed….The writing is excellent, quickly building up a tense atmosphere of secrecy and suspicion. The book is written in third person, allowing the reader to get inside the head of each of the major characters in turn. …But what really makes this book stand out from the crowd is the inclusion of Simon’s wife and family.

I would definitely like to read another Helen Dunmore book in the future.

Currently reading: I started Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert but found her ‘voice’ annoying me so not sure if I’ll stick with it. I enjoyed Eat, Love, Pray but did find it flawed – pretentiousness of the author is already grating on me. Not to mention I’m feeling pretty dismal about my marriage at the moment….

Reading next: If I’m feeling like working on the marriage thing I might try Wild at Heart and Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge but I think I’m more likely to get into Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, a Christmas gift. I was also reminded I still have Constance Hall’s book, might just return that one. In addition I believe I’ve found the next title for my When Are You Reading Challenge from the movie review in my church magazine, stay tuned!

when-are-you-reading-2017-final

Progress Tracker

Pre 1500 – The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

1500-1599 

1600-1699 – coming….

1700-1799 – Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

1800-1899  

1900-1919

1920-1939 – The Small Woman by Alan Burgess

1940-1959

1960-1979 – Exposure by Helen Dunmore

1980-1999 

2000-Present 

The Future 

 

 

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 15th Feb

Leave a Reply

