Books

My Big Book Hangover

I like Big ****s and I cannot lie

You other readers can’t deny

That when…….

Rapid Fire Book Tag: As seen on Nut Free Nerd

#8 The last book you finished?

Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon

#15 Long or Short Books?

Medium?!?!

I’ve just finished the fourth book in the Outlander series and I think I’m done. Did I like it? Yes, yes, yes but at 1185 pages it was long long long. I started reading this series, this year after watching the first two seasons of the Outlander tv show. All have been amazing. But now at the end of this fourth book I feel like a lot of ends have been tied up and I’m not convinced any further books will add value to this beloved story. I sadly found myself skimming through some pages in this volume just to get to the answers in the plot. I didn’t enjoy the journey of this book so much I just really really wanted to know what happened to the characters. I’m not a terribly patient person so having to get through 1185 pages was a hard slog for my happily ever after. So whilst I still loved this book, and seeing what was happening for my beloved characters it was just tooo long 😦

Secondly I didn’t quite find the love story of Brianna and Roger as captivating as Claire and Jamie’s. But I have spent all night and morning thinking about the book so I am no doubt hooked.

 

I told you I suck at book reviews :p

Have you read the Outlander books?

How do you feel about big big books??

 

ps By the looks of GoodReads other readers felt similarly

pps Another review reminded me of Lord John – I really loved how he helped Brianna

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Big Book Hangover

  1. I know they are lengthy, but yes – I’ve read all the Outlander books. To me, they are worth the investment in finishing, if only for the last words uttered by Claire (and what she’s reacting to) in the last one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

